Skip to main content »

Duterte confers PNP Medalya ng Kagitingan to 42 Police Commandos of SAF 44

 |  2 min read

The posthumous conferment of award was received by surviving kin of the 42 police commandos during honors ceremony at the Malacanang Palace.


President Rodrigo R. Duterte yesterday conferred the coveted PNP Medalya ng Kagitingan to the remaining 42 members of the Gallant SAF 44 who died in a police operation against a high value international terrorist target in Mamasapano, Maguindanao on January 25, 2015.

The posthumous conferment of award was received by surviving kin of the 42 police commandos during honors ceremony at the Malacañang Palace.

The conferment ceremony was also attended by Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) Secretary Eduardo M Año, PNP Chief, Director General Ronald “Bato” M Dela Rosa, and other officials from DILG, PNP, and NAPOLCOM.

In 2016, the two members of the SAF44 PCInsp Gednat Tabdi and PO3 Romeo Cempron were first to receive the same award.

See also: Brave Igorot Soldier Risks His Own Life to Save Hostages From Maute Group

The PNP Medalya ng Kagitingan is the highest PNP award given to a police officer for acts of “conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of life and limb above and beyond the call of duty.”

“To qualify for the award, a member of the PNP must perform in action a deed of personal bravery and self-sacrifice above and beyond the call of duty so conspicuous as to distinguish himself clearly above his comrades in the performance of more than ordinary hazardous service,” according to PNP Spokesperson, Chief Superintendent John C Bulalacao.

See also: Uncommon True Valor Story of An Igorot Scout Ranger

Despite the loss of 44 police commandos, the Special Action Force accomplished its mission to neutralize international terrorist bomber Zulkifli Bin Hir alias Marwan.

Recipients of the Medalya ng Kagitingan are entitled to a lifetime monthly stipend and other non-cash benefits.

Name of Awardees

  1. PCINSP GEDNAT G TABDI (conferred in 2016)
  2. PO2 ROMEO C CEMPRON (conferred in 2016)
  4. SPO1 Rodrigo F. Acob Jr.
  5. PO3 Chum G Agabon
  6. SPO1 Robert D Aliaga
  7. PCINSP Cyrus Paleyan Anniban
  8. SPO1 Jedz-In Abubakar Asjali
  9. PO3 Noel Nebrida Balaca
  10. PO3 Richelle S Baluga
  11. PO3 Glenn Berecio Badua
  12. PO2 Russel Bawaan Bilog
  13. PO3 Godofredo Basak Cabanlet
  14. PO2 Windel Llano Candano
  15. PO2 Loreto Guyab Capinding
  16. SPO1 Peterson I. Carap
  17. PO2 Gringo C Cayang-o
  18. PO2 Mark Lory O Clemencio
  19. PCInsp Ryan Ballesteros Pabalinas
  20. PCInsp John Garry Alcantara Erana
  21. PCInsp Max Jim Ramirez Tria
  22. PSInsp Joey Sacristan Gamutan
  23. PSInsp Rennie Tayrus
  24. SPO2 Lover L. Inocencio
  25. SPO1 Virgel S. Villanueva
  26. SPO1 Andres Viernes Duque Jr.
  27. SPO1 Noel Onangey Golocan
  28. SPO1 Junrel Narvas Kibete
  29. SPO1 John Lloyd Rebammonte Sumbilla
  30. PO3 Amman Misuari Esmulla
  31. PO3 Roger C. Cordero
  32. PO3 Nicky DC Nacino
  33. PO3 Joel Bimidang Dulnuan
  34. PO3 Franklin Cadap Danao
  35. PO3 Walner Faustino Danao
  36. PO3 Jerry Dailay Kayob
  37. PO3 Noble Sungay Kiangan
  38. PO3 Ephraim G. Mejia
  39. PO3 Omar Agacer Nacionales
  40. PO3 Rodel Eva Ramacula
  41. PO3 Romeo Valles Senin I
  42. PO2 Angel C. Kodiamat
  43. PO2 Joseph Gumatay Sagonoy
  44. PO2 Oliebeth Ligutan Viernes

Source: PNP-PIO

Bot @bot

I am an Igorotage Bot. I monitor the web for the most interesting and relevant content.

SAF PNP sAF44 medalya

Sharing is caring, kailian!

We do hope you find something great in this story. If you find this helpful, please do share it with the people you care about.

Igorotage is a social networking site — all contents are user-generated. The author's views are entirely his or her own and may not reflect the views of Igorotage.

Except as otherwise noted, the content of this page is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.

Join the discussion

Sign in to share your thoughts. No account yet?

What to learn next?

You might also like to read these related articles.

Lloyd Depayso Binwag is Top 1 of SAF Commando Class

Patrolman Lloyd Depayso Binwag is Top 1 and recipient of the Strongest Man Award of SAF COMMANDO Class 107-108 2019.

Logan in People

Feb 6 · 1 min read

Kalinga Accountant Tops PNP-SAF MAG-ALAB Class

Certified Public Accountant - Police Trainee from Kalinga tops PSBRC RTC3 Class 2020-02 MAG-ALAB Special Action Force.

Hailie in People

Sep 24, 2020 · 3 min read

Kimberly Esteban Molitas: One of the Most Influential Women in Asia

Lieutenant Colonel Kimberly Esteban Molitas is one of the most influential women in Asia. A proud Igorota PNP Spokesperson from Kibungan, Benguet.

Brando in People

Feb 19, 2020 · 3 min read

Ifugao PNP Donates Financial Aid to Victims of Typhoon Ulysses

Ifugao Provincial Police Office donates a total of P135,000.00 financial aid to victims of typhoon Ulysses in the province.

Orpha in Culture

Nov 19, 2020 · 2 min read

PBGEN Jack Limpayos Wanky: Igorot PNPA Chief of Staff

PBGEN Jack Limpayos Wanky, a proud Igorot from Buguias, Benguet is the new Chief of Staff of the Philippine National Police Academy.

Danika in People

Nov 27, 2020 · 4 min read

Binnadang: Banaue People Builds New House for Poor Ifugao Family

Through Binnadang, Banaue people led by the Banaue PNP builds a new two-bedroom house for a poor family of nine in Ifugao.

Dandreb Batang in Culture

Sep 28, 2020 · 5 min read

Jonathan Calixto, Igorot from Besao is Highest Ranking Official of PNPA Class 1998

Jonathan Calixto, Igorot from Besao, Mountain Province is highest ranking official of the Philippine National Police Academy Class of 1998.

Sean in People

Apr 21, 2019 · 2 min read

P/Supt Byron Allatog among MetroBank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos

Igorot Police Superintendent Byron Allatog receives the ACES Award from the Metrobank Foundation.

Brando in People

Feb 27, 2019 · 4 min read

Igorot Dictionary: Redefining the Igorot vocabulary

Learn the Igorot vocabulary, one word at a time.

Bot in General

Feb 15, 2018 · 4 min read

Cordillera Food Recipes: Exotic Igorot Dishes

Most Cordillera food recipes are simple with minimal ingredients and preparation. Here's a shortlist of exotic Igorot dishes.

Bot in Foods

May 10, 2018 · 4 min read

Browse more stories by category or jump to a random article.

News Surprise me